explainx.ai0k
TrendingAI News TodayPathwaysSkills
Pricing
explainx.ai

Upskill in AI — 16 free pathways, live workshops & bootcamps, and 50+ courses from practitioners. Plus the skills, tools, and MCP servers to practice on.

follow us

follow on google

Add explainx.ai as a preferred source

corporate training

support@explainx.ai

get started

Find your pathTake Free Evaluation

community

Join the community

learn

mind: share how you thinkpathways — start freeworkshopsbootcampscoursescompare Explainxcertificationsmock testsexplainx universitycorporate traininglearn skills & mcp

discover

skillsmcp serversexplainx mcptoolsmdx readeragentsllmsdesignsdictionarypeopleagi trackerfelony benchranks

company

aboutvisionmissionteaminstructorsteach on explainxpartnershipscommunityhackathonscareers

content

daily AI newsstate of AI — live resultsblogreleasespromptsgeneratorsresource libraryfor LLMsexplainx.ai kids

solutions

all solutionsdeveloper upskillingmarketing upskillingproduct manager upskillingleadership upskilling

newsletter · weekly

Get AI news, tools, and insights in your inbox.

supportcontactprivacytermsdata rightshow we create contentsubmission guidelines

© 2026 AISOLO Technologies Pvt Ltd

explainx.ai

On this page

  • TL;DR: the questions people are asking
  • What was announced
  • How it probably works, and what we are inferring
  • The trust pitch: three promises, three ways to check them
  • How Tab compares with other personal assistants
  • Why a text interface matters
  • What to ask before you use it
  • What this means for what you build
  • Related reading on explainx.ai
← Back to blog

explainx / blog

Tab: The iMessage and WhatsApp AI Assistant at a $300M Valuation

Personal AI, AI Agents, Startups, Privacy, AI News

Tab, a personal AI assistant you text on iMessage or WhatsApp, emerged from stealth at a $300M valuation. How it works, privacy claims, and what to ask first.

Oct 8, 2026·8 min read·Yash Thakker
add explainx.ai
go deep
Tab: The iMessage and WhatsApp AI Assistant at a $300M Valuation

On October 7, 2026, TechCrunch reported that Tab emerged from stealth at a $300 million valuation, calling it "another personal AI assistant" in a crowded field that includes Meta's Muse and others. The pitch is simple: you text it on iMessage or WhatsApp, and it does things for you, from grocery orders to birthday gift ideas, using what its co-founder describes as its own phone number, computer and wallet.

This post covers what has been reported, what it implies about how Tab works, how its trust claims compare with similar assistants, and what to ask before you let any assistant handle your errands and money. A sourcing note: we saw excerpts of the TechCrunch article and secondary coverage that repeats them, not the full article or Tab's own materials, so details are marked where we could not confirm them.

Weekly digest3.5k readers

Catch up on AI

Curated AI updates on agents, skills, and MCP — delivered to your inbox. Unsubscribe anytime.

TL;DR: the questions people are asking

table · 2 cols
QuestionShort answer
What is Tab?A personal AI assistant you text on iMessage or WhatsApp
Who is behind it?Co-founders Brennan Erbz, Stafford Schlitt and Ammar Amdani (spelling of the first name unconfirmed)
Valuation and funding?$300M valuation; amount raised not disclosed
Investors reported?SV Angel, Valar Ventures, American Spirit
What can it do?Grocery orders, gift ideas and other errands, per the founders
How is it different?Has its own phone number, computer and wallet, so it acts for you
Privacy promises?No training on user data; payment vault Tab cannot see; approval before irreversible actions
Is it available?Mostly word of mouth; a waitlist or private beta is reported but unverified
Is it the Tab wearable?Not as far as we can tell; see the name-collision note below

What was announced

TechCrunch's report places Tab in the same category as other consumer assistants that handle reservations, shopping and travel. Co-founder Ammar Amdani says the product is meant to act, not advise: it "has its own phone number, computer and wallet," so it can carry out a request on your behalf instead of telling you how to do it.

Reported details:

  • Interface. You interact by messaging, on iMessage or WhatsApp, rather than through a new app. That lowers friction, because the assistant lives where you already talk to people.
  • Team. Three co-founders who began the work earlier this year.
  • Backers. SV Angel, Valar Ventures and American Spirit are reported as investors.
  • Valuation. $300 million, with the amount raised undisclosed.
  • Growth. Mostly word of mouth so far.
  • Roadmap. The company says it will launch a new product soon and did not say what.

A name-collision note. There is an older, unrelated product also called Tab, a wearable AI pendant created by Avi Schiffmann and covered in 2024. Third-party databases list it as a small, earlier-stage company. We found no evidence the two are connected, so do not conflate them when you search.

How it probably works, and what we are inferring

Amdani's "own phone number, computer and wallet" line is the most interesting technical claim, and we want to separate what he said from what we infer.

Own phone number. Messaging through iMessage and WhatsApp implies Tab is reachable at its own contact, and that it can also place calls or receive verification texts as itself. That is a different model from an assistant that reads your inbox as you.

Own computer. Most agent products run a browser or virtual machine on the user's behalf. An "own computer" suggests Tab operates in its own environment, which might be a cloud machine, to click through websites. This resembles the architecture of cloud-VM agents we have covered, such as Meta Muse.

Own wallet. An assistant with a funded wallet or a payment instrument it controls can buy things without you typing card details into each site. Amdani says payment details sit in a vault Tab itself cannot see, which would mean the agent triggers payments without reading the card number. How that is implemented, for example through tokenized cards or a payments provider, was not described in the coverage we reviewed.

Our inference, flagged as such. Acting from its own accounts rather than borrowing your logins could sidestep one concern retailers raised against other agents, credential capture. Amazon's complaint against Meta's Muse included that it appeared to store customer credentials, as we covered in Amazon blocks Meta's Muse. But Amazon also objected that Muse did not identify itself as an agent. Whether Tab identifies itself to the stores it uses, and whether retailers accept that, has not been reported. It is the same question Paul Graham raised about agents and Amazon.

The trust pitch: three promises, three ways to check them

Amdani frames trust as the main differentiator. The three promises are specific enough to test.

table · 2 cols
PromiseWhat would verify it
User data is never used to train AIA written policy, contract terms and, ideally, a third-party attestation
Payment details sit in a vault Tab cannot seeA description of the payments architecture, a security assessment and a named payments partner
Nothing irreversible without explicit approvalA list of what counts as irreversible, how approval works in a text thread, and logs of every action

None of these has been independently confirmed in the coverage we saw. They are the right promises, because the most-reported failures in this category involve approval. Our write-up of ChatGPT Dots sending an unapproved email shows why "explicit approval" has to be precise: an assistant that interprets a casual message as consent can still act wrongly.

How Tab compares with other personal assistants

We have covered several assistants in this category. The comparison below uses only facts from our earlier posts and the Tab report; blanks mean we do not know.

table · 6 cols
TabMeta MuseHark ProUnderdogOpenClaw
Where you use itiMessage, WhatsAppMeta app and devicesWeb, iOS, Android (US)Mac appSelf-hosted, chat apps
Where it runsNot stated; implies its own computerCloud VMCloud, with a computer-use modelLocal on Apple siliconYour machine or server
Money handlingOwn wallet, vault Tab cannot see (claimed)Not covered hereEncrypted credential vault (reported)Browser actions gated by human approvalYou configure it
PricingNot publishedNot covered hereReported Free, $20 and $100 tiersNot covered hereOpen source
Weights or codeClosedClosedClosedLocal modelsOpen source

For fuller context, see Hark Pro versus Muse and Dots, the Underdog local assistant, the OpenClaw guide and OpenAI's Dots.

Why a text interface matters

Putting an agent in iMessage and WhatsApp is a distribution bet. People already have the apps open, group chats make it easy to share an assistant, and there is nothing to install. It also has costs.

  • Weaker confirmation controls. A chat thread is a poor place for structured approvals. "Yes" can mean many things, and a long thread hides what was approved.
  • Platform dependence. Messaging platforms set rules for automated accounts, and those rules can change.
  • Shared threads. In a group chat, who is allowed to instruct the assistant, and with whose money?
  • Auditability. A chat history is a log, but not a clear ledger of what the agent did.

A good design would add structured confirmations, spending limits, per-merchant rules and a readable activity log, even inside a text interface.

What to ask before you use it

If you join a waitlist or get access, these are the questions worth answering first.

  1. What exactly can it spend, and how do I cap it? Ask for per-purchase and monthly limits.
  2. What counts as irreversible, and how is approval requested? Look for a distinct confirmation, not a casual "ok."
  3. Where does my data live, and who can read the thread? Including Tab staff.
  4. Is anything used for training, including by model vendors it calls? "We do not train" and "our vendors do not train" are different statements.
  5. How does it identify itself to retailers and services? This affects whether it keeps working.
  6. What happens if it is wrong? Refunds, liability and dispute handling.
  7. Can I export or delete everything? Test it early.

What this means for what you build

If you build assistants, Tab's reported design is a pattern: separate identity for the agent, a payment path that hides card data from the model, and messaging as the interface. The unresolved parts, approval UX, merchant acceptance and auditability, are where products in this category will win or lose. See our guide to human-in-the-loop design and the agentic commerce stack from Stripe and others for the building blocks.

If you are a user, treat a $300 million valuation as a statement about investor expectations, not about safety or quality. Start with low-stakes tasks and a small spending cap, and wait for independent reviews.

Related reading on explainx.ai

  • Hark Pro: Brett Adcock's proactive assistant vs Muse and Dots
  • Underdog: a private local personal AI
  • Is Meta Muse safe? The honest verdict
  • Amazon blocks Meta's Muse from shopping
  • Paul Graham: Amazon banning agents is a startup opportunity
  • ChatGPT Dots and the unapproved email
  • What is OpenClaw? Personal AI assistant guide
  • Agentic commerce: Stripe, Link and Grok shopping

Details are based on TechCrunch's October 7, 2026 report as summarized in excerpts and secondary coverage, and on statements by Tab's co-founders; they may change. We have not used the product or reviewed its policies. Valuation and funding are not the same thing, and this is not investment advice.

Spotted something out of date? Let us know.
Yash Thakker

Written by

Yash Thakker

Yash is an AI expert with over 300K learners. Join his workshops →

View Yash Thakker in People in AI →

Related posts

Oct 7, 2026

Hark Pro Explained: Brett Adcock's Proactive AI Assistant vs Muse, Dots and Grok Bot

On October 6, 2026, Brett Adcock, the founder of Figure, launched Hark Pro, a proactive personal AI assistant from his separate company Hark. It uses a model built for computer use, logs into sites through an encrypted vault, and is meant to find work for you instead of waiting for prompts. Here is what it is, the reported pricing, how it differs from Muse, Dots and Grok Bot, and the claims to verify.

Oct 5, 2026

Ghost Core: The $3,499 Personal AI Computer That Runs Models On Device

Ghost launched Core, a $3,499 personal AI computer that runs open-weight models entirely on device, ingests your apps, files and wearables, and acts without being asked. Batch 1 is already sold out. Here is what Ghost has said, what it has not, and how it compares with building your own local AI box.

Oct 3, 2026

Underdog Private Personal AI: On-Device Privacy Architecture Explained

Conway Research's Underdog is a free, invite-only personal AI that runs on Apple silicon Macs: email, calendar, meetings, and browser errands stay on device. a16z led the lab's first round on October 2, 2026 — but the product story is the privacy architecture, not the raise.