Oracle and Google announced on October 27, 2026 that Google's Tensor Processing Units will be available through Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI), the first time TPUs will be offered on a hyperscale cloud outside Google. In Oracle's press release, made at Oracle AI World in Las Vegas, availability begins in calendar year 2027 and ramps over a multi-year period. What the announcement does not contain matters as much as what it does: no price, region, capacity figure or named TPU generation for OCI.
TL;DR: what is announced and what is not
| Question | Answer |
|---|---|
| What is new? | Google TPUs offered through OCI, first outside Google's own cloud |
| When? | Calendar year 2027, ramping over several years |
| Which chips? | Google's eighth-generation family (TPU 8t training, TPU 8i inference) is cited; OCI's specific generation is not stated |
| Who supplies what? | Google supplies TPUs; OCI supplies power, cooling and datacenter networking |
| Price, regions, capacity? | Not specified |
| Customers named? | None |
What Oracle and Google actually said
Mahesh Thiagarajan, president of Oracle Cloud Infrastructure, said different AI workloads have different compute needs and that TPUs on OCI give customers "multiple leading AI compute architectures in one cloud." Amin Vahdat, Google's senior vice president and chief technologist for AI and infrastructure, said the next generation of AI will require a diverse range of compute and that the move gives more organizations access to the technology.
The press release says TPUs can support large-model training and post-training, including dense and mixture-of-experts models, and production inference for reasoning, agentic and long-context applications. It describes TPU 8t as cutting frontier model development cycles from months to weeks with nearly 3x the compute performance per pod over the previous generation, and TPU 8i as designed for the iterative work of many specialized agents.
Google's own blog post adds the technical pitch: up to 12.6 PFLOPS of native FP4 compute per chip, up to 2x performance per watt versus the prior generation, and up to 80 percent better performance per dollar for low-latency serving. It also claims over 97 percent goodput on large training runs thanks to optical circuit switching that reroutes around faulty hardware without restarting jobs. All of these are vendor claims.
The four reasons Google gives for TPUs on OCI
- AI-dense data centers. TPU systems are designed for rack-scale direct liquid cooling, which OCI's newest sites support. Capacity can shift between training and inference.
- Oracle Acceleron networking. A SmartNIC with tenant isolation, High Performance Fabric and Zero Trust Packet Routing links TPU clusters to Oracle databases and storage.
- Proximity to enterprise data. Many enterprises keep systems of record in Oracle databases, so fine-tuning and inference can run near that data without cross-cloud transfer costs.
- Multi-architecture choice. TPUs sit next to GPUs so teams can assign each stage to the cheapest accelerator.
The software story: TorchTPU
A chip is only useful if your code runs on it. Google says TorchTPU, its native PyTorch stack for TPUs, is now open source, and that teams can train and serve with vLLM, SGLang, llm-d, TorchTitan, Ray, TorchRec, Hugging Face and LiteRT without rewriting model code. We covered the Hugging Face side of that work in TorchTPU for Transformers and Diffusers. If that portability holds up, the 2027 start gives teams time to test their code on TPUs in Google Cloud first.
Where this fits in Oracle's chip strategy
Oracle has been collecting accelerator relationships. We reported on its ChatGPT and Codex workspace on OCI and Cerebras capacity for 2027, and on the Tencent and Oracle plan for 100,000 AI chips in Southeast Asia. Social posts around the event also mention Cerebras and SambaNova inference systems and larger Nvidia Vera Rubin clusters; treat those as secondary reports until Oracle's own materials for them are read. The TPU announcement is the one we could verify against both companies' primary posts.
Why Google would share TPUs
Google has mostly kept TPUs inside its own cloud, though not exclusively: we covered Anthropic hiring Google's TPU founder to build its own chips, which shows how important custom silicon has become to model labs. Selling TPU capacity through a rival cloud widens Google's market, puts TPUs next to the enterprise databases many customers already run on Oracle, and gives Oracle a differentiator beyond Nvidia supply. TPUs are also a security-sensitive asset; a US sanctions case over TPU trade secrets shows how closely the technology is guarded. How Google will protect designs when the hardware sits in another company's data centers is not addressed in the release.
TPU versus GPU: what actually differs
A GPU is a general-purpose parallel processor that became the default for AI because of its software ecosystem. A TPU is a chip designed around the matrix multiplications that dominate neural networks, connected in large pods with custom interconnects. In practice the differences a buyer feels are these:
| Dimension | GPU clouds | TPU |
|---|---|---|
| Software | CUDA ecosystem, widest framework support | JAX native; PyTorch via TorchTPU, newly open source |
| Scaling | Clusters over InfiniBand or Ethernet | Pods with optical circuit switching for rerouting |
| Availability | Multiple clouds and neoclouds | Google Cloud only until OCI in 2027 |
| Pricing | Public list prices across providers | Google Cloud pricing; OCI pricing unannounced |
| Lock-in risk | Moderate (CUDA) | Moderate (TPU-specific tuning) |
None of this makes one family better. It makes workload fit matter: a team running a mature PyTorch inference service with vLLM may port easily, while a team with hand-written CUDA kernels faces real work.
Timeline: how we got here
| When | Event |
|---|---|
| April 2026 | Google unveils its eighth-generation TPU family, split into 8t for training and 8i for inference |
| August 2026 | Anthropic hires Google's TPU founder to build chips of its own |
| October 2026 | Google open-sources TorchTPU; Oracle AI World opens |
| October 27, 2026 | Oracle and Google announce TPUs on OCI for 2027 |
The first two rows summarise reporting and announcements we covered in the linked posts; the last two are from the primary sources above.
A practical checklist before 2027
- Inventory your stack. List the frameworks, custom kernels and serving engines your models depend on, and mark which ones have TPU support.
- Run a pilot on Google Cloud TPUs. Measure tokens per second, cost per million tokens and time to first token for your workload against your current GPUs.
- Quantify data movement. If your training or retrieval data lives in Oracle databases, estimate transfer volume and costs between clouds today. That is the benefit Oracle is selling.
- Ask OCI account teams the unspecified questions. Capacity commitments, reserved pricing, region plans and support responsibility are all open.
- Keep two paths. Avoid architecture choices that tie you to a single accelerator before pricing is public.
What to watch next
The deal is also a test of how much Google wants TPUs to be a product other clouds resell, as opposed to a private advantage for Gemini and Google Cloud customers. If other clouds follow Oracle, TPU supply and pricing could become a real alternative reference point for GPU rental rates. If Oracle remains the only one, the arrangement looks more like a targeted partnership with an enterprise-data specialist. Neither company has said which it is.
Oracle's investor day and Google Cloud events are the likely places for specifics. Look for a named TPU generation, the first OCI regions, and any lab or enterprise customer commitment. A named anchor customer would signal that capacity is real and not only a roadmap line. Also watch whether Oracle's other chip announcements gain primary-source detail, since the Cerebras and SambaNova items we saw were reported through social posts.
What it means for what you build or pay
- Nothing changes in 2026. There is no capacity, no price list and no region to plan around.
- Portability is the real preparation. If you train or serve on Nvidia GPUs, check whether your stack runs on TPUs through PyTorch tooling. Benchmark on Google Cloud TPUs now so you have numbers when OCI capacity arrives.
- Watch data gravity. If your data is in Oracle databases, TPU access on OCI could reduce transfer costs. That is Google's and Oracle's argument; verify it with your own egress numbers.
- Treat per-dollar claims carefully. The 80 percent performance-per-dollar figure is for low-latency serving by Google's own account, not a general price comparison.
Open questions
- Which TPU generation, and how many chips, will OCI deploy?
- Will OCI TPU pricing track Google Cloud's?
- Which regions and sovereign-cloud options will get TPUs?
- Who operates and supports the hardware when something fails: Oracle, Google, or both?
- Will frontier labs train on TPUs inside OCI, or is this aimed at enterprise inference?
Bottom line
This is a confirmed, two-sided announcement with a long runway. It signals that AI compute is turning multi-vendor, and that cloud providers want to offer several accelerators in one place. For now, it is a 2027 plan with vendor performance claims and no price.
Related reading
-
OpenAI reportedly plans to buy Google TPUs: claimed vs verified
-
Oracle OCI makes NVIDIA Vera CPUs generally available: 150,000 CPUs, OpenAI going to production
Details are accurate as of October 27, 2026; terms may change as Oracle and Google publish more.
